People

Laser Material Processing Group

 

Faculty

Hongtao Ding, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering

University of Iowa

2410 Seamans Center

Iowa City, IA 52242

Webpage: http://www.engineering.uiowa.edu/~honding/

Email: hongtao-ding@uiowa.edu

Phone: 319-335-5674

Fax: 319-335-5669

 

PhD Students

Ninggang 'George' Shen

Ph.D. Student

Office: 2312 SC, (319) 384-3652

Lab: 278 IATL, (319) 384-1489

Email: ninggang-shen@uiowa.edu

Research:

Metallo-Thermo-Mechanical Coupled Process Modeling, Machining, Laser Peening, Microstructure Prediction. 

 

 

Avik Samanta

Ph.D. Student

Office: 2312 SC, (319) 384-3652

Lab: 278 IATL, (319) 384-1489

Webpage: http://www.samantavik.com/

Email: avik-samanta@uiowa.edu

Research:

Advanced manufacturing and simulation.

 

 

 

 

Qinghua 'Nicholas' Wang

Ph.D. Student

Office: 2312 SC, (319) 384-3652

Lab: 278 IATL, (319) 384-1489

Email: qinghua-wang@uiowa.edu

Research: 

Laser materials processing.

 

 

Master Students

Timothy Heiderscheit

M.S. Student

Lab: 278 IATL, (319) 384-1489

Email: timothy-heiderscheit@uiowa.edu

Research: 

Laser-assisted drilling of composites
Optimization of laser cutting processes for composites

 

 

Undergraduate Students

Landon Schreck

Undergraduate Student

Lab: 278 IATL, (319) 384-1489

Email: landon-schreck@uiowa.edu

Research: 

Laser material processing

 

 

Visiting Scholars 

 

Dr. Haipeng Ji

Visiting Scholar

Email: haipengji@163.com

Research:

Dynamic Recrystallization based on Cellular Automata Method

 

 

Research Experiences for Undergraduates and High School Students 

Kaitlin Greene

High School Student

Clear Creek Amana High School, Amana, Iowa 

 

Email: kaitlingreene123@icloud.com

 

 

 

 

Brennen Wears

Undergraduate, Mechanical Engineering

Email: brennen-wears@uiowa.edu

Research: 

Laser fusion joining.

 

Ryan Simons

Undergraduate, Mechanical Engineering

Email: ryan-simons@uiowa.edu

Research: 

Composites processing 

 

Alumni

Chelsey Pence

M.S.

Now with Boeing

Research:

Laser shock peening, laser peen forming.

 

Former Members

 

Reza Abdi Behnagh

Visiting Scholar

Email: reza.abdi.b@gmail.com

Research:

Friction-based material processing, Nano-composites, Mechanical and Microstructural Characterization of Metallic Materials, Corrosion and Wear Behavior of Materials, Numerical Simulation.

 

 

Prof. Baoqing Zhang, PhD

Visiting Scholar

Lab: 278 IATL, (319) 384-1489

Email: baoqing-zhang@uiowa.edu

Research:

Mechanical ruling for diffraction grating.

 

 

Prof. Zhenhua Zhu

Visiting Scholar

Email: zhuzhenhua0431@163.com

Research:

Off-road electric vehicle design and control

 

Hua Ding

Visiting Scholar

Associate Professor, Jiangsu University, China.

Research:

Laser shock peening.

 

Andrew Christ

Undergraduate, Mechanical Engineering

Research:

Machining, laser beam machining.

 

Robert Bowers

Doctor of Dental Surgery (D.D.S.) Student

Research:

Laser shock peening of dental implant materials.